Leonard Cohen to release new album


      Printable version

Leonard Cohen releases Can’t Forget: A Souvenir of the Grand Tour on 11 May, 2015.

The ten songs of this hypnotic album are Cohen rarities recorded on his recent, celebrated “Old Ideas World Tour.” Remarkably, this is Cohen’s third album release since last September’s Platinum selling Popular Problems, which garnered four nominations at the prestigious Canadian Juno Award 2015 and won for the coveted ‘Album of the Year’.

The songs on Can’t Forget have the immediacy, spontaneity, and thrilling intimacy of the best studio recordings made in the white heat of live performance and Cohen’s legendary soundchecks, in which he brings the colors of his virtuoso band to full bloom in harmony with his voice, never more seductive. Here is a full range of Leonard Cohen’s work: new songs including, from the realm of blues, the wickedly funny “Got a Little Secret” and “Never Gave Nobody Trouble”; luxurious performances of such Cohen masterpieces as “I Can’t Forget,” “Light As a Breeze,” “Night Comes On,” and a sublime “Joan of Arc”. Cohen also treats us to a gripping version of the Quebecois love song “La Manic,” performed before a captivated audience in Quebec City, and a moving tribute cover of the late country master George Jones’s “Choices.” These are songs and performances of the first order that you can’t forget.

Can’t Forget is available for pre-order at all digital service providers, where fans will receive “Never Gave Nobody Trouble” instantly with purchase.

Cohen’s live concert tours were met with extraordinary and unanimous accolades as he performed around the world from 2008 through 2013. His mesmerizing performances totaled 470 shows in 31 countries, attended by four million fans.

Can’t Forget gives listeners an extremely special glimpse into Cohen’s intimate rehearsal process, widely known to be in-depth ‘concerts before the concert!,’ heard by fans for the first time with this new record. Cohen continues to work with vocalists, musicians, producers and engineers who are the best in the business.

Columbia releases Can’t Forget: A Souvenir of the Grand Tour
1. Field Commander Cohen
2. I Can’t Forget
3. Light as a Breeze
4. La Manic ++ (originally by Georges Dor)
5. Night Comes On
6. Never Gave Nobody Trouble ***
7. Joan of Arc
8. Got a Little Secret ***
9. Choices ++ (originally by George Jones)
10. Stages

*** New original Leonard Cohen songs
++ Covers never previously recorded by Cohen