Jennifer Hudson among Songwriters Hall of Fame guests

Jennifer Hudson and Marcus Mumford are among the musical guests at the Songwriters Hall of Fame induction later this month (Jun16).

The annual event, a ceremony and dinner, honours the industry’s most talented songwriters and will this year see Marvin Gaye, Tom Petty, Elvis Costello, Nile Rodgers, Chip Taylor and Bernard Edwards inducted into the prestigious Hall of Fame.

On Thursday (02Jun16), organisers announced that Jennifer and Marcus are just two of the stars who will feature in either a presentation or performance at the event at New York’s Marriott Marquis Hotel on 9 June (16), alongside Sister Sledge, Rachel Platten and the B-52s.

Late night host James Corden, actors Jon Voight and Jussie Smolette, the Byrds’ Roger McGuinn and songwriting duo Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff, who are also co-chairmen of the Songwriters Hall, will feature in the event too.

There will also be several special awards presented on the evening, including the organisation’s highest honour – the Johnny Mercer Award – to Lionel Richie.

The Dancing on the Ceiling singer will follow in the footsteps of songwriters including Carole King, Bruce Springsteen, Stevie Wonder and Stephen Sondheim by collecting the gong, reserved for artists whose work “upholds the gold standard” set by the late Mercer.

“Lionel’s songs made you love and dance and will last forever in American culture; but he truly demonstrated the power of songwriting with his masterful co-writing of the global song We Are The World with Michael Jackson,” Gamble and Huff said in a statement to earlier this year (16).

Nick Jonas and Seymour Stein will also take-home special awards at the ceremony.